To the Girl Obsessed with Marriage 


You know who you are and I know who you are, about a year (give or take) ago. 

I’ve always known that I wanted to get married. Ever since I was a little girl it’s been on my to-do list. I even used to pretend “marry” my dad every day when I was little. As I got older I became secretly obsessed with it, the only ones who would really know are my followers on Pinterest. I Pinterest planned almost an intire wedding and as I got older I got worse. I used to pretend I was married, I had an old ring that had a simple gem in the center and a little filigree design on either side and would wear it on my left hand to bed and stare at it. 

It was about a year ago I took a step back and realized that I was truly and honestly obsessed. That was when I cried out to God and asked for Him to take this away from me and He told me that these habits needed to be stopped cold turkey. No more pretending, no more ring, and the Pinterest board was not to be touched and I did it. It was hard and I slipped up a couple times but I can say that I am no longer obsessed with it. Sure I still want to get married and have a beautiful wedding and family some day but I am more content now than I’ve ever been to wait. 

So, I encourage you too, to wait. Wait on God and trust in His plan for your life. 

I hope my story can help and encourage you in your time of weakness. 

Until next time!

~Katie 

Leave a Reply

