My Modesty isn’t about Me 

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 ESV 

When it comes to modesty I wouldn’t say that I’m a fence-rider but I wouldn’t consider myself to fall on either of the extremes. 

The first extreme is essentially the lack of bodily modesty. That anything and everything goes. I’m not sold on that tactic and I don’t necessarily think that it follows the commands about dress that we should obey. 

The other side of the spectrum is the side that I can see benefits to but I think just a bit extreme for me. Only wearing skirts, nothing above the knee, the lowest your shirt can sit is the collarbone etc. 

For me, my physical modesty is a mix of both of these. I wear pants, my shorts and skirts are fingertip level and my shirts don’t show cleavage. Also, my most controversial part of what I wear is leggings/yoga pants. My personal philosophy is that As long as my butt if covered in the leggings then we are good to go and some people choose not wear leggings and I respect that. 

Now that the physical part of modesty has been addressed it’s time to address the emotional side of modesty. Modesty in the Christian sense is not just about what you’re wearing, it’s about your heart and your attitude. 


Our bodies were made in the image of Christ and as Christians we choose to have our bodies honor God and it’s not just our bodies that should be honoring God. Modesty is all about acting in a way that is pleasing to the Lord. That encompasses following His law (the Bible duh), pursuing a relationship with Him, and overall being a faithful servant. Modesty in this sense is not focused on a dress code but, on how We show ourselves to be followers of Christ. 


Until next time! 


(I know it’s been quite a while since I’ve last blogged but life has been crazy and I’ll explain all in my upcoming Life Update. I hope to get everything back on track soon!) 

Leave a Reply

